do i have to file a tax return


Banyaknya orang yang lapor SPT Tahunan membuat saya penasaran, apakah semua orang wajib lapor SPT Tahunan. Saya membandingkannya dengan pajak US pada website IRS, kita dibimbing untuk mengetahui, apakah seseorang layak lapor SPT Tahunan. Aplikasi pada website IRS ini disebut Interactive Tax Assisstance (ITA)

Sebelum mengisi aplikasi ini, ada informasi yang harus disiapkan, yaitu:
1. Status kewarganegaraan dan pelaporan
2. Penghasilan dari luar negeri
3. PPh pemotongan dan pemungutan (withholding tax)
4. Informasi dasar untuk menentukan penghasilan kotor
Waktu yang dibutuhkan sekira 12 menit, namun jika dalam waktu 5 menit tidak aktif maka harus kembali mengulang.

Beberapa pertanyaañ tersebut:
1. What tax year are you asking about? (Aku jawab 2011)

2. Were you a US citizen on the last day of 2011 (aku jawab yes), namanya juga simulasi, hehe.

3. What was your marital status on the last day of 2011 (aku jawab married)

4. Do you and your spouse intend to file a joint tax return for 2011 (aku jawab yes)

5. Did you have income from outside the US In 2011 (aku jawab no)

6. Did your spouse have income from outside the US in 2011? (Aku jawab no)

7. Did you or your spouse receive social security benefits in 2011? (Aku jawab no)

8. Did you or your spouse receive railroad retirement benefits in 2011? (Aku jawab no)

9. Do you live with your spouse on the last day of 2011 (aku jawab yes)

10. Did you and/or your spouse provide more than half of your support for 2011
(aku jawab yes)

11. What was your your spouse’s combined gross income in 2011? (Aku jawab 12 ribu dolar)

12. What is your date of birth? (Aku jawab tahun 1975)

13. Have you or your spouse claimed the first time homebuyer credit on a prior year return? (Aku jawab no)

14. What was your employment status in 2011? (Aku jawab employed)

15. What was your spouse’s employment status in 2011? (Aku jawab employed)

16. Did you or your spouse receive income from tips) (aku jawab yes)

17. For 2011, do you or your spouse owe: social security or medicare taxes on tips that you did not report to your employer (aku jawab no)

18. Social security or medicare taxes on wages from an employee who did not withhold these taxes? (Aku jawab no)

19. Does you or your spouse’s form W-2, box 12 show group term life insurance wit code “M” Or “N” (aku jawan no)

20. do you or your spouse owe recapture taxes? (Aku jawab no)

21. Did you or your spouse have wages from church or church controlled organization? (Aku jawab no)

22. Did you receive distribution from a Archer Medical Savings Account (MSA), Medicare Advantage MSA or Health Savings Account (HSA)? (Aku jawab no)

23. For 2011, do you or your spouse owe any additional (write in) taxes? (Aku jawab no)

24. Are you or your spouse liable for an addtional tax on a qualified plan, including an individual retirement arrangement (IRA), or other tac favored account in 2011? (Aku jawab no)

25. Are you and your spouse for household employment taxes in 2011? (Aku jawab no)

26. Did you or your spouse have federal income tax withheld in 2011? (Aku jawab yes)

AND THE ANSWER IS

You are not required to file a tax return for 2011.

Yang menarik, ada tulisan berikutnya,
You should file a tax return for 2011. The return may generate a refund.

Jadi file tax return itu tidak semata-mata bayar pajak tetapi juga untuk tax refund.

Saya berharap ada jawaban harus lapor karena telah dipotong tax withholding.

Apa penghasilan per tahunnya yang $12.000, next time akan saya coba dengan $120.000 hehe…


Leave a Reply

